Discuss Are these boxes overfull? (USA NEC 2017) in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

dogbob

DIY
Reaction score
I am a homeowner-to-be. This is in USA, and must follow NEC 2017 (this state has not yet adopted 2020). The builder has done rough electrical and it concerns me, but I am not an electrician, so can't make a definitive call.

In the attached photo, the left box appears to be a 32 cu in box (is that correct?) and already has four NM cables coming in the top and at least two coming in the bottom. I think that white is 14-3 and yellow is 12-3. I don't know about the bottom. The way I read NEC 314.16, a 32 cu in box can only have 13 #12 conductors, and then no outlets. The top is already 9 #12 and 3 #14, and there are also wires from the bottom and probably going to be one or two outlets (yokes?).

The right box appears to be a 16 cu in box (is that correct?) and has 3 or 4 NM 14-3 cables (two on far right, one or two on left) giving 9 or 12 #14 conductors, but I think we are limited to 7, and again, that doesn't allow an outlet.

Am I interpreting this correctly? Am I missing anything?

Thank you!!!Are these boxes overfull? (USA NEC 2017) Overloaded boxes - EletriciansForums.net

Last edited by a moderator:
In my humble opinion, I would not consider that to be “rough electrics”
it looks quite neat and tidy.

I think the person doing that work has done quite a lot of electrical work in the past and may well be a perfectly good electrician.

if you have concerns, bring them to the attention of the builder/lead contractor in writing and await their response.

edit,

I am uk based and understand some of the differences between uk and USA wiring code but not all of it.

@Megawatt is a USA spark that regularly posts good quality info about things your side of the pond.