Discuss C&G 2365 & The 'Express' Route in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,

Long time lurker first time poster.

I’ve got a few questions surrounding those short courses you normally see everyone winging about but from a slightly different angle to that I’ve seen discussed elsewhere on the forums. I’m well aware that the courses offered by the likes of TradeSkills4U to name but one company and not necessarily wishing to single them out aren’t looked on in the most favourable light by those who’ve been in the industry for a number of years (for obvious reason in my opinion), I’m more interested in how the industry views the advice/instruction that’s been offered in those courses?

A little background about me, I’ve been working in entertainments for the last 8 years as a touring lighting technician working on the Spice Girls and Kylie Minogue tours to name but two, what strikes me is the sometimes lack of knowledge people in the field I operate in have when it comes to electricity, sometimes even in the higher echelons of the sector. I’ve been looking at these short courses not to get my foot in the door in the domestic market but to shore up my own knowledge when working electricity, often I find myself working with multiple 400a three phase systems and vast electrical distribution etc very comfortably, personally it comforts me knowing I have that bit of paper behind me just to back myself up.

My question being, you as the professionals if you take the experience required to be employed by yourself out of the question, how do you view the course content?

I should point out to those who aren’t so familiar with the entertainment industry that it does operate in a similar fashion to the domestic electrical market in regards to training, all on site passed down and supervised (to an extent) but I do think that sometimes things at the lower end of the market can get a little cowboy.