Discuss Cat 6 Cable for Sky q in the FreeSat, Sky, VirginMedia Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm building a new house, and have a BT duct pipe in place.
For now, Im going to use BT broadband from my family's house which is approx 100m away.

I intend to run a cable through the duct pipe, so I can plug into their BT broadband router for internet and so we can get SKY Q TV.

Is a Cat6 cable the best option, or should I use something else?
(im a total novice)

thanks for any advice.

approx 100m away

You need to measure the cable run accurately, ethernet is only meant to run up to 100 metres and can be flaky if it's over that. (Technically the limit is 90m of fixed cable, allowing for a 5m patch lead at each end)

You might have to go for fibre optic or use some VDSL adapters...

thank you for the reply.
[automerge]1594036493[/automerge]
So if i went for fibre optic, is there any specific cable i need?
Also, would the fibre go straight into the routers at either end?

thanks

Last edited:
Also, would the fibre go straight into the routers at either end?

No, you need a pair of media converters...

So if i went for fibre optic, is there any specific cable i need?

The cable needs to match the media converters you buy. For the one above, you would want OM2 Multimode fibre cable, and you need to either buy pre-terminated cable(which comes with a big tube on the end, you need to drill approx 35mm holes through the walls) or be able to terminate "SC connectors" onto each end of the fibre cable, which needs to be terminated into a breakout box at both ends, like this...

Reply to Cat 6 Cable for Sky q in the FreeSat, Sky, VirginMedia Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

OFFICIAL SPONSORS