Discuss CB Calculations for Underfloor Heating in the Electric Underfloor Heating Wiring area at ElectriciansForums.net

MartK

-
Reaction score
Hi All,

I've taken a look at a consumer unit today and noticed that the previous electrician wired bathroom underfloor heating using a 20A circuit breaker. There are a range of spare CB's and having made my own calculations, just wanted to check what you all thought.
According to previous receipts supplied by the customer, the underfloor cable is 'Prowarm' 150watt loose cable, 64m in length, laid with a spacing of 5cm. From what I can find out on their website, such a length of cable will amount to 640w, therefore requiring no more than 3A. This doesn't sound right for underfloor heating but i'm missing why the previous electrician used a 20A CB.

Any thoughts?

Many thanks

Thanks for your reply. The previous electrician seems to be very good from what I have seen so far so it's always nice to learn from experience.
I have little experience in UFH and wanted to understand his thought process in going past the spare 6s and 16s, and connecting into a 20A.
Its a 24 way board so lots of spares!

I've taken a look at a consumer unit today and noticed that the previous electrician wired bathroom underfloor heating using a 20A circuit breaker.

From what I can find out on their website, such a length of cable will amount to 640w, therefore requiring no more than 3A. This doesn't sound right for underfloor heating but i'm missing why the previous electrician used a 20A CB.

Why were you looking at the CU and circuit in question? Are you there to do work on it?

What is the rating of the fuse in the sfcu?

what size is the cable suppling it? the mcb in the board is there to protect the cable suppling it to the fused spur. also if its a fixed load and not going to pull that much then there is no problem

I would fit a 3A fuse in the spur.