Discuss Difficult gaining experience..... in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

N

Notyetaspark

Hello everyone,

Could really do with some advice on the best way to go about continuing my learning to become an electrician.

Currently working with a local spark for the last 4 months but he can only give me 2/3 days per week if that. When I'm with him I feel I'm definitely learning but I'm 34 years of age with a family to support and 2/3 days a week wage just isn't sustainable for much longer.
Before this I worked as a mate on more commercial sites for about a year but didn't even get to look at a wire or anything to do with electrics really apart from a ---- load of plastic conduiting.
Is this how it is when trying to gain experience working commercial?
Seems like everyone gets assigned their role and that's all they will really do for the most part. No real learning gained from it to be honest.

Got my level 2 and 17th edition and want to work towards my gold card eventually but just don't feel I'm going to get the opportunity working as a mate on commercial sites.

How did some of you who were adult learners with no time to waste get there and if you had to do it again or if you was in my situation what route would you take?

Appreciate any feedback

Why do you feel installing conduit is not learning, myself and many contributors to this forum have spent days installing containment on commercial sites as it very often the bulk part of the install. Learn to walk before you can run.

Why do you feel installing conduit is not learning, myself and many contributors to this forum have spent days installing containment on commercial sites as it very often the bulk part of the install. Learn to walk before you can run.

Who said I was installing conduit?