Discuss Electrical certificates and Qs signiture. in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi guys I'm after some clarification on this, I am a gold car jib electrician but haven't done my testing and inspection but our supervisors are expecting us to carry out testing on certain jobs.
I can test but the problem is as I don't have my testing and inpesction certificate as far as I'm concerned I'm not competent enough to be signing off certs.

I was told however that our certs are to be signed by a Qs so in the event of something bad happening then the blame is on them.
So should I be signing it before or after the QS signs it as I can't really prove they been signed after I sign it?

Thanks

You need to speak to your QS about this, they may offer some training or give you some more experience to gain competence.

To answer your question: you would sign the certificate first and the QS would sign after they have reviewed what you have entered into it.

That's the thing our QS isn't on site and I'm not 100% sure it gets signed after so should I just not sign them until I see a signiture from qs first?

Hi guys I'm after some clarification on this, I am a gold car jib electrician but haven't done my testing and inspection but our supervisors are expecting us to carry out testing on certain jobs.
I can test but the problem is as I don't have my testing and inpesction certificate as far as I'm concerned I'm not competent enough to be signing off certs.

I was told however that our certs are to be signed by a Qs so in the event of something bad happening then the blame is on them.
So should I be signing it before or after the QS signs it as I can't really prove they been signed after I sign it?

Thanks