Wetroom Store - Network Wetroom Suppliers
This official sponsor may provide discounts for members

Discuss How do i calculate the total resistance in a series-parallel circuit? in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

ChalleT

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:  American Electrical Advice Forum

Hey, I'm an electrical engineer in training and i was wondering how you could calculate the total resistance in a series-parallel circuit? I attached a picture of what it looks like. If it's to any help resistor 1 is 2, r2 is 3, r3 is 4, r4 is 5 and r5 is 6 Ohm. Thanks for any help

TL;DR
Need help with calculating total resistance in a series-paralell circuit

Attachments

uHeat Banner - Forum Discount Available
This official sponsor may provide discounts for members
Aico 3000
Loki

Loki

-
Trainee
Supporter
Hi,

Show us your workings & we'll point you in the right direction if needed.

Lucien Nunes

Lucien Nunes

-
Mentor
Esteemed
Arms
Hint: I would begin by transforming one mesh into a star, after which it is trivially simple.

PEG

PEG

-
Mentor
Esteemed
Arms
Or we could ask,how many single or groups are series,and how many are parallel?

O

Ollienagiel

-
You need to use Ohms law triangle. And also R1+R2 calculations.
Ohms law triangle -
Voltage = I(current in amps) x R(ohms)
So if you re-arrange the formulae and make R the subject. R=V/I to give you the resistors total. On resistors in series the voltage is the same and resistors in parallel the voltage drops But you need a lot more working outs or somewhere to start as it’s blank except for R1 etc

marconi

marconi

-
Mentor
Esteemed
Arms
This is a problem which requires knowledge of Kirchoff's Laws and simultaneous equations.

Have you covered these in your course or earlier at school?

If you have then you can use LN's hint at #3.