Discuss I Was Just Wondering What You Thought About This? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

OnlQQker

Esteemed
Reaction score
I was speaking to an electrician last year.
He told me he'd gone round to a job where bell wire had been used to power sockets, the consumer unit had no cover on it and the cables showed signs of deteriorating.

He told me because they didn't want to pay to have it all put right he just walked away. I'm not an electrician so I wondered if this was/is the right thing to do.
I know Gas people will turn off the supply but I guess it's not that easy with electrics apart from pulling the main fuse but people will bridge that in reality.

Just wondering what others would do?

He told me he'd gone round to a job where bell wire had been used to power sockets, the consumer unit had no cover on it and the cables showed signs of deteriorating.

He told me because they didn't want to pay to have it all put right he just walked away. I'm not an electrician so I wondered if this was/is the right thing to do.
I know Gas people will turn off the supply but I guess it's not that easy with electrics apart from pulling the main fuse but people will bridge that in reality.

If it was that bad I would inform the owner of the best option, and my Professional mind would say Isolate, and this is what I would advise, as the last person on the scene it would be my responsibility, so I would advise that it was, in the realms of safety to Isolate, better that than some poor Person or House getting destroyd, that's my take some snowflake options may differ, better safe than dead or burnt down, wonder what the insurance people would say, until the Brown stuff hit the fan??????, you tell me.