Discuss PLC help required for beginner in the Industrial Electrician Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I've just got hold of a FX3U-24MR unit. I've no previous experience with PLC's at all but have a little with Arduino and Rpi, so I'm hoping to teach myself as I go and looking for a good community to help.

I've got a project at work which I'm going to start - it's basically a motor and safety brake which has a braking monitor system to detect whether the brake is on/off, temperature, wear monitoring and a few other requirements.

Now for the silly questions...

1). The PLC came with a RS232 cable... is that what I program is with? I've only got a laptop so can I get a USB interface?

2). What program do I need to install so I can play around with ladder logic and download to the PLC etc? It says it's compatible with GX-developer and GX-work2. Are these free? Finally, does it burn it to the PLC or does it need to run live via the data cable?

Hopefully someone can help me get started and any other tips, no matter how simple they are would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Hi
You can download free fx configuration software, hi on the other hand as far as I know isn’t free and unfortunately very expensive..
USB to rs 232 cables are a standard item..
The program is downloaded from the pc into the plc ram or sometimes flash memory..

Before you get started you need to make a list of all your inputs and outputs and then create your self a flow chart to work from before building your ladders

If this system has to be safety rated. That PLC will not cut the mustard I'm afraid.

As has been mentioned, RS232 to USB converters are common an pretty cheap.