Discuss Potentially dangerous - should I report this to someone? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

SammyG

Greetings all,

I'm looking for a bit of advice. I'm not actually an electrician, but I am an electrical design engineer and I am aware of the regs.

I recently bought a new house which, after a few weeks developed an earth fault in the kitchen that kept tripping the RCD. No problem - I found the issue and fixed it.

However, whilst I was investigating this, I noticed that the sockets in my kitchen are not on a ring circuit, but rather in a radial circuit, with 2.5mm cabling, but the MCB in the consumer unit was a 32A. I believe that this was unsafe, so I replaced the MCB with a 20A.

Because I am a designer rather than an installer, I don't know how common this is and I don't really know how dangerous it is - theoretically, in fault conditions, the wire would likely melt before the MCB trips, but does it work this way in practice?

Also, I suspect that I am not technically supposed to tinker with my own electrics this way, so I am reluctant to go down any official channels.

I'd like to know if you folks here agree that this was dangerous, and if so, should I report the original installer to anyone (his name and number are printed on the consumer unit)?

Thanks in advance

Sammy.

Do you have a copy of the regs? If so appendix 15 gives recommendation for RFC & Radial, and suggests a 20amp ocpd for 2.5 tw&e on a Radial circuit . Table 4D5 gives current carrying capacities for insulated & sheathed flat cables, the highest rating for 2.5mm tw&e is 27amp clipped direct.