Discuss Problem with shower - MIRA Shower leaking in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Good afternoon guys,

I was wondreing if anyone could help with the issue I have at home.

I have a MIRA offset quadrant shower (built around 3/4 years ago approx), and I am having leakings (see attached the photos). I have tried to put some silicone several times but the water is still going out somehow from where the wall connects to the tray and from where the tray connects with the enclosure, and I presume the floor is quite wet at this point.

I am no expert in removing the tray, so I was wondering if it would be better ask a plumber to come, lift the shower and try to get it installed properly or change shower straight away and ensure whoever comes and installs it does it in a proper way.

I was wondering if I could get some ideas, so I don't spend a lot of money on this!

Many thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_20210428_153112.jpg
    517.2 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_20210428_153105.jpg
    494.5 KB · Views: 17
Shower cubicles are notorious for leaking, very difficult to maintain water tightness on something that constantly moves when being used, not what you want to hear I know, but if you are going to take it out, look at a more stable shower base i.e ceramic rather than plastic.

Just a note.
Shower cubicles and doors should only have silicone on the outside only.
If you do the inside the water/condensation builds up on the inside and will come out as you're describing. Try cleaning off all the silicone and dry everything right off.
Then use 'Plumbers Gold' around all of the tray inside, and all of the frame (sides and bottom) outside.
Also check the rubber seal between the doors, these wear out quite often and you can get new ones online, but check the profile of the seals as they are all different.