Discuss Real-world certification & test in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I’d like your opinions on a scenario I’ve come across. A certificate was produced which contained errors and while there were still faults on the installation. This was corrected, but some time later further faults became apparent. What should I do?

Here’s some detail –

I’m a retired electrician. A family member got a builder to extend a Victorian semi they’d bought, and the builder arranged for an electrical contractor to do the full rewire the house needed.
The whole project was plagued by delays and issues. Towards the end the builder asked for payment for the electrical work. I advised they ask for a certificate before completing the payment, so a certificate arrived and I was asked to have a look at it.

There were a few issues on the certificate. The diversified load seemed set to match the 60A cut-out while than the collection of circuits they had installed implied 80A. There were a few measurements missing. My main concern was that every IR value was identical – 200Mohm @ 500v. I would have expected a bit of variation. Maybe this was the max value the test instrument could report, so I looked at the tester id but this didn’t name the device, just had an asset number.

The certificate had been signed as reviewed and sent to Local Building Control.
I passed my concerns to the family. They said there were existing RCD trips faults still on the installation, sparks at a light switch and the electrician was present investigating these.
The trip fault was cleared by separating a ring into two separate radials, using circuits labelled as ‘spare’ on the certificate. Seven of the 12 circuits were labelled differently on the certificate and the CU, four of them had different mcb current ratings.