Discuss very tentative about asking this. in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all,

Ok let me get my concerns out of the way first…

Every time I see someone ask for advice, especially when they are an ‘outsider’ so to speak, people seem to take great pleasure in shooting them down, telling them what they can’t do or not giving helpful advice in any shape of form. In short just being very unhelpful.

That’s the negative bit done!

I have registered with this forum to try and get some advice from within the industry. Im currently looking at all my options for the future. I have been working as an electrical technician in the RAF for the past 13 years. I’m just trying to find out how best to transfer my skillset from my current environment to that of a ‘civvie’ electrician. One of the main focuses of my job is to design, install and test temporary installations for ongoing deployments and exercises around the world, all of which must conform to the 17th Edition.

Looking on line at training centers/ collages and what they offer has not made things any clearer. They are aimed people that are new to the game, I’m not (domestic, possibly)! I have done the 17th Ed (and 16th before that). At the age of 39 and working full time the option of doing the NVQ is completely out of the question. I will be doing 2394 & 2395 test and inspect as well as 2396 electrical design at some point in the near future. This is mainly to formalize the training I have and advance my knowledge further.

Any (helpful) advice would be appreciated. Sorry for the negative start.