Discuss What to do with high n-n continuity readings in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Jamie'

-
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm currently in my last year of my apprenticeship and I think my boss has set me a challenge! I was at a house and got moved a few things around in the kitchen for a new kitchen to be fitted and also upgraded the fuse board so it had RCD protection.

Now on one of the rings (ground floor ring) the reading on l-l and e-e was fine but on n-n the reading was 62ish. And then when trying to do insulation resistance it was just giving a dead short. So I checked all the sockets and all was fine there but the house seems a total mess with junction boxes every where as most sockets only had 1 cable at it.
Now what I'm wondering is this down to me to find the fault and fix as I'm the one who has changed the fuse board? Or if I've read reg 632.4 correctly it means it's not down to me?
Just wondering if anyone has any ideas on what I could do?
Hope this makes sense!

My view is the circuit has a fault on it and so you can't just put it back into service. Detective time !
I do test before, but I also tell the Customer that faults found during work will be fixed but they are extra.

My view is the circuit has a fault on it and so you can't just put it back into service. Detective time !
I do test before, but I also tell the Customer that faults found during work will be fixed but they are extra.
The customer isn't willing for any carpet or damage to be done though.

If some pre tests were carried out you would have discovered if this was an existing issue or one you have caused. Does your boss know the situation at this site.

So pre tests should have been carried out.
Now to the question I asked have I read that reg 632.4 correctly and best way to find and repair it?