Discuss Why are my LEDs burning out? in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I'm not an electrician, just a hobbyist trying to build a small sculpture which incorporates LEDs, but they keep burning out. I am using a 8w/24v Meanwell power supply, a single 20mA Dynaohm resistor, and 3 strings of four 5mm warm white LEDs each, in parallel (see attached diagram). They all lit briefly, but very quickly one string after the next went dark. What am I doing wrong, and how to fix it? THANKS!

Attachments

• IMG-1814.jpg
    497 KB · Views: 48
probably excessive voltage. change the power supply to a 12V one. (assuming that the LEDs are "normal" 12V.it will be stated on the box and maybe on the lamp also).)

Point is, we do not know if the resistors resistance is correct for the load to bring the voltage down within limits of the led’s

can'tunderstand if the LEDs are 12V , why OP is using a 24V PSU.

OP, give us some details of the LEDs you are using.
2" diameter round which give a circumference of 6.25" and a surface area of 3.174 sq. in. 2 bits of wire stick out the back to show the way into the connectoer.

The OP's "resistor"is a 20mA constant current device.

Surely you shouldn't put three strings of led's in parallel like that?
Any slight difference in the forward voltage drops of the diodes will mean the current is not equally shared between each of the strings. I'd think all the current will go through the diodes with the lowest drop, and the others won't light?

Broughaha - I think you need a Dynaohm in each of the three strings of LED's for your scheme to work.
Can you give details of the led's - recommended running current, forward voltage when running?

Last edited: