Discuss 18th edition for gas engineer in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

Newbie on here so be gentle!

So I’m a commercial gas engineer with over 20 years experience, so know my way around control panels etc and work on the electrical side on a daily basis, but have no formal training in electrics at all (don’t actually know how this is allowed!)

anyway I am looking around for another job but have noticed many reputable company’s that are paying a good rates now require 18th edition along with the relevant gas qualifications,

So I have been looking around and found a few online courses (NIC and learningzone) that offer online training courses and mock exams, and was think of going down this route,

anyway, my question is would this be a feasible route or would I struggle as I have zero knowledge of regs so far..,,

thanks

The 18th Edition course is literally a course on how to read a book. Its a doddle and many non- electrical trades take them. You can simply book yourself on as you are on a 2 or 3 day course and you will breeze it. Pass rate is ridiculously low and as long as you can read at a reasonable pace a child could do it......

The 18th Edition course is literally a course on how to read a book. Its a doddle and many non- electrical trades take them. You can simply book yourself on as you are on a 2 or 3 day course and you will breeze it. Pass rate is ridiculously low and as long as you can read at a reasonable pace a child could do it......
Should that read Fail rate is ridiculously low P&S?

Look up '18th edition practice papers'......in the 'search', top right of screen and try a few questions to give you an idea.
It should be quite simple if you got your reg book and know how to use it.

Thanks for the reply’s,

I will have a look at the test papers and youtube videos I have seen mentioned in other posts, see how I get on with them and then look at a 2-3 day courses if I’m still struggling

cheers