Discuss Daughters house in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi i am new to the forum i am a industrial electrician in the water industry with 35 years experience I have my 18th editition and considering getting my part p , i want to rewire my daughters house would i be allowed to if i had my part p ? i am not a member of any professional organisations like NIC etc

I would speak to building control to see what they would require from you. They may only require a completion certificate from yourself or they may request that they have the installation verified by one of their own inspectors at your cost.

Part P is part of the building documents you must comply with, it is not a qualification and as such you're not required to hold it. You can download the document for free online.

A rewire is classed as notifiable works so building control would need to be informed, as per my first line.

I would speak to building control to see what they would require from you. They may only require a completion certificate from yourself or they may request that they have the installation verified by one of their own inspectors at your cost.

Part P is part of the building documents you must comply with, it is not a qualification and as such you're not required to hold it. You can download the document for free online.

A rewire is classed as notifiable works so building control would need to be informed, as per my first line.
Thank you there seems to be so much confusion requarding what you can do the house has been completly ripped apart with only one socket in the whole building were abouts is the document on line

For a one off job it will be as cheap , if not cheaper to put a building notice in than to join a scheme..