Discuss Does anyone use the UNI-T 528 test tool in the Electrical Testing & PAT Testing Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I'm wondering if anyone has used this tool.
First of all I'm an automotive electrician but my work sent me on a PAT testing course and we have a DeltaPAT mi3309BT unit at work.
I was thinking of buying something cheaper like this tool just to experiment with at home. I am 8 years away from retirement and was thinking about the possibility of doing PAT testing as a 'semi retirement' job. At the current cost of testing items 10 an hour would earn me 1 1/2X my current hourly pay.
I don't want to spend 4X the money on a DeltaPAT which would sit gathering dust for 8 years - I could consider buying one when the day comes for retirement if I'm still going to do it but for now that money is better off going into my mortgage.
For now I'm thinking that this UNI-T tool would be useful to have around and experiment with. Does anyone use one?
Screenshot 2022-12-18 at 9.24.50 AM.png

Hi! I am a new PAT tester and use the UT528. It's simple to use and seems fine for everyday purposes like basic offices/holiday lets/caravans/nurseries etc...
It's battery powered so very portable , and lightweight too.
Some more experienced people seem to think it's "cheap chinese c**p", but it is working ok for me so far.
I find testing more complex items, like long extensions, adapters, and commercial large fridges a bit of a problem. It kept failing a chiller yesterday, yet an electrician today says it's passed for him without a problem. (I am a bitt suss of this though, as he is friends with the customer!)
So, that's my feedback! I'm happy , on the whole, but will upgrade when I can afford.
I am using the Kewpat app as well, so will probably go with one of their machines in due course.
Good luck! I am surprised how many people are looking for testers, and am making good money.

when you say it failed a chiller, what was the fault?