Discuss Equipotential Bonding Explanation in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
OK......I know I'll get slaughtered for asking this question because I'm not an electrician but I'm working my way through Level 2 Diploma in Electrical Installations for no other reason than I like to learn. I've searched the web till my head hurts and watched YouTube videos by John Ward, Chris Kitchner and many others till I'm dizzy but I just don't get Equipotential Bonding. I see that the purpose involves joining together metalwork and conductive items that are or may be earthed so that it is at the same potential everywhere, normally to Gas/Water/Oil/Building. As I understand it, if an exposed conductive part becomes live through a fault and a person touches it and at the same time an extraneous conductive part that is not bonded they'll get a shock but if the extraneous conductive part is bonded they won't. Obviously I'm wrong. Can someone explain it in layman's language please. I attach an image.....surely the human will get a shock here.

Equipotential Bonding Explanation Main-Bonding1 - EletriciansForums.net

I think you have had too much to think. You seem to have the essential understanding in your statements. What may be missing is an extraneous part can be at a different potential to the earthed metal work hence a danger of shock in the difference between the parts. However if the extraneous part is joined to existing earth you avoid that difference with the bonus of tying into the additional protection of the RCD. It is one of those things that you don't know what to ask for the right answer you are looking for. Maybe pan back from just the parts of the earthing system and look at the whole thing???