Discuss heat pump and pv diverter in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

I've got both a solar pv and an ashp system.

The solar system also has 2 batteries and it's configured to fill the batteries first and then export to the grid when they are full.

I don't think it matters, but the pump is an LG Therma V R32 monobloc.
From what I understand (I'm not an electrician or have any kind of technical background), the heat pump is connected to the cylinder in the attic in 2 different ways:

• it pumps hot water into the cylinder through the coil. that only takes the temperature inside the tank to between 45 and 50C.
  • there's 2 wires from the pump to a box next to the cylinder (one for power and one for data). the box contains a circuit breaker and a contactor that decides whether energy is sent to the immersion heater to top up the temperature.

It's all working fine, except that I've still got an iboost+ (or similar) pending to be fitted. We've been back and forth with the installer for almost a year now.
The installers have tried the solic200 and the solar iboost+ so far without success. They designed the system with this (without specifying the model) and i didn't even know this existed before they mentioned it to me.

They've sent me a few electricians. Every new guy tells me a different thing about compatibility with the heat pump and even some times they manage to break things that were already working when trying to make it work. i've lost trust on them.
We have a bad relationship at the moment and I'd rather get this installed and working if possible rather than having to battle for a refund that may take a long long time.

the original design said that the diverter would be wired into the lg box and use energy that would go into the grid to heat the water.
however, now that i've looked into it, it doesn't make a lot of sense to me.