Discuss Help with replacement shower in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

JOHN8874

Hi. I am a part qualified Electrician, Iv been working as an electricians mate for around a year having decided to retrain aged 30. I have level 3 City and Guilds, EAL inspection and testing and 17th edition.
I have been building up by skills and knowledge whilst working with a full qualified spark.

A family member has just moved into a new house. Shortly after the shower died. I can say fairly confidently that the house need a full rewire but at present having just moved house they don't have the cash for it. The plan is to rewire it within the next 12 months as they start to make changes to the house and can make chases for new sockets etc.

Basically the shower died on not long after they moved in and they want i t replacing asap.

The house is supplied by a 4 way rewirable Wylex board. There is an extension with 4 circuits supplied by a single 45a fuse switch disconnector.

The switch disconnector is terminated into the fuse board at the same position as the incoming mains tails!

Iv done some basic checks and the incoming Gas is bonded but the water does not appear to be. The water as been moved from the Gas/Elec cupboard at some point and the earth clamp and the old 10mm which supplied it is still there which gives the game away.
The incoming water is now in the kitchen/extension and is not bonded :annoyed: .

The old 10.5kw Shower was supplied on the old main fuse board by 6mm cable.

The 6mm t+e comes up under the bath where it enters a JB. In The other end of the JB is the 6mm t=e supply for the shower switch on the landing wall.
The pipes for the shower and bath taps (the shower is over the bath) are supplementary bonded but the cable is terminated into the JB in the CPC terminal!