Currently reading:
Hi all i'm new to the forum

Discuss Hi all i'm new to the forum in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

garnhamr

Hi i'm Rob from suffolk area worked as a spark for about 9 years and been fitting floors for the past 3. Things aren't going so well with the flooring comapny so i'm looking to go back to electrics. Not entirely sure i should have my account marked that i'm a spark considering my current situation or not perhaps you guys can give your view and i'm not overly fussed what i'm labelled as.
I worked full time as a spark doing mainly house bashing, trained up within a wide range of works, worked for a year doing purely heating controls and completed anything domestic but it was all countersigned by the company i worked for.
The only qualification i have is the city and guilds 2360 part 2 (level 3) so i want to do the am2 for jib registration and the 2392 seems like a good investment at some point too.
Anyway, happy to be here, seems like a very good forum that should be well respected.

The qualification you need for a JIB gold card is the NVQ level 3, either C&G or EAL; that's all they seem to care about. You may be able to do that without the AM2.

The qualification you need for a JIB gold card is the NVQ level 3, either C&G or EAL; that's all they seem to care about. You may be able to do that without the AM2.

i've been getting confused, i thought the am2 WAS an nvq3 so i could just go to a center and get it done over a couple of days. [h=2][/h]

AM2 achievement measurement 2 is a practical assessment of your capability in a workshop that can be done very quickly as it is a practical exam.

The NVQ3 refers to the extended collection of in work evidence of your competence to undertake tasks in a variety of situations.
Assembling the portfolio can take a significant period of time, generally not less than 6 months.