Discuss I am getting very high zs readings in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

banny07

-
Arms
Reaction score
Hi Guys. When measuring zs I get very high reading. Ze is 0.3 (tns), zdb is 0.21. r1 and rn are is 0.42. r2 is 0.72 , r1+ r2 is 0.29 . when I test zs it 8.26 ohm new to testing. I even buypassed rcbo but it stays same. Do you think my mft if faulty? Any thoughts guys? I am new to testing.

Last edited:
None of those figures make sense to me.

I assume zdb is at the db after measuring ze so should be higher than ze not lower.

How are you doing these tests?

What is the state of the circuit for each test?

Last edited:
If Ze was measured with parallel paths removed then Zs at the DB with all paths reinstated can be lower.
If you believe your test equipment to be faulty then recheck it at your known source of Zs at the DB.

I assume zdb is at the db after measuring ze so should be higher than ze not lower.

I am teasting ze with main earth disconnected, zdb with earth connected.

On lighing circuit r1+r2 is 0.86 but zs comes up to 7.66 ohm.on another radial circuit r1+r2 is 0.09 but zs jumps up to 0.52.

Formatted slightly differently....
Please note r1, rn and r2, and R1+R2 are different things.
Ze is 0.3 (tns), (OK)
Zs@db is 0.21. (OK - parallel paths I assume)
Ring Final Circuit:
End to End r1 and rn are is 0.42. (OK)
End to End r2 is 0.72 (OK, assuming twin and earth - expected cpc= * 1.67 and is close enough)

R1+ R2 is 0.29 (please use capitals for this - OK - 0.42+0.72 / 4 = 0.28 )

. when I test zs it 8.26 ohm new to testing. NOT OK!

What make and model of MFT do you have?
Are you using different test lead / probe / clip for Zs?
If recent Megger are you selecting 2 wire or 3 wire non-trip Zs?