Discuss I have not been paid, what shall I do in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

sham

-
Reaction score
Hello, I am a self-employed electrician who has carried out work for a pub/club in my area. I did not do a contract. It’s been nearly 2 years and he has not paid me. He owes me over £5000. I tried seeking advice and somebody suggested that I go on-line to claim through MCOL on GOV.UK site. Apparently it is the cheapest option. It says on the online-document, before a claim is made I need to follow an pre-action protocol. The pre-action protocol booklet that I downloaded confused me. Can someone please tell me which steps I can take.

What I have so far,

I have messages between me and him regarding the work.

I have taken pictures.

My Scheme assessor came to look at the work and I have an assessment report to that address.

I have completed an Electrical installation Certificate.

Have you invoiced him, sent reminders and then sent a final demand for payment? If so, did you retain copies?

Have you invoiced him, sent reminders and then sent a final demand for payment? If so, did you retain copies?
I've Invoiced him, sent emails, he even said he had a payment plan for me. But they seem to be false promises.
When phoned him and asked in a direct way ''Why have you not paid me''. He put the phone down on me, when I texted him ''Why have you not paid me'' . He replied with, '' What are you on about I have paid you, and don't call me when you're drunk'' Followed with ''Where are the reciepts, invoice'' etc.I have gave him these repeatedly. His done this before to others as I started to do an investigation on him, after he conned me.

Pete's right, go to a solicitor and get him to send a letter pre legal proceedings, that quite often does the trick.