Discuss Kitchen sockets tripped wont come back on in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

c1ai7e

DIY
Reaction score
So my kitchen sockets tripped, it won't let me switch back on just keeps tripping again. Im no expert, but switched all sockets off excepts the ones I cant get too fridge/freezer and washing machine.

Is this a fire hazard or safe to leave overnight till I can contact landlord in the morning. Sorry if this sounds dumb. But as a single mum I just want to make sure its safe.

I have a pic but won't let me upload

likely to be a dodgy appliance , first thing I always do is unplug everything then try to reset the rcd

So my kitchen sockets tripped, it won't let me switch back on just keeps tripping again. Im no expert, but switched all sockets off excepts the ones I cant get too fridge/freezer and washing machine.

Is this a fire hazard or safe to leave overnight till I can contact landlord in the morning. Sorry if this sounds dumb. But as a single mum I just want to make sure its

likely to be a dodgy appliance , first thing I always do is unplug everything then try to reset the rcd
Im guessing the fridge/freezer or washing machine as I cant get to these plugs. Is it safe if I leave them off till I can contact landlord in the morning? No fire hazard or anything? Thanks for replying

In effect the rcd has done its job and disconnected the supply

my gut says once everything is completely unplugged it should reset

Switching all sockets off is not sufficient, you need to unplug everything you can, including the kettle, toaster microwave, etc, etc, then try to reset the RCD, if it then resets you have narrowed the problem down to one of the appliances you have unplugged, if you then plug in each one in turn and the RCD trips, you have found your problem appliance, hopefully its one of those and not the inaccessible fridge or washing machine. Good Luck.