Discuss Large scale DMX controlled setup in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

myosis

DIY
Reaction score
Hi there,

I should start off by saying I'm in the deep here. I've never done this before and have very little knowledge, so I'm asking here if what I've learned makes any sense and what would be your advice for handling a setup this big ?

I'm building a massive light installation with a total of 260 meters of programmable RGB led strips.
I'm planning on using 60 leds per meter which would be a total of 15,600 individual pixels.

I want to control these 15,600 pixels during a live performance, so I will be hooking it up to a DMX and controlling it via a pc.

Here is where it gets kind of confusing for me, and I'm not sure what the best solution for this setup would be. I'm fine with soldering and I know where the cables need to go. But the numbers on the dmx parts are somewhat overwhelming.

One dmx driver can take up to 170 individual led lights, meaning I would need 92 dmx drivers.
I believe most dmx controllers only take up to 32 drivers.

I don't think I can use 3 dmx controllers and somehow use them as 1.

There is this thing called Art-net which seems to be made to handle larger than usual setups.
Would this be able to take up to to 92 dmx drivers?
Or what would the approach of this setup otherwise be ?

Cheers,
Tim

What DMX drivers, LED strip and controller are you using.

DMX is a control protocol used mostly for controlling stage lighting. 1 DMX "universe" consists of 512 channels (each channel having a variable value from 0 to 255), a lot of DMX controllers (traditionally lighting desks) have multiple DMX universe outputs. Artnet is a way of sending multiple DMX universe data over a IP network.

So the way DMX typically works for lighting is:

First: