Discuss Live Light Fitting? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a little perplexed by a simple light fitting replacement that has turned unexpectedly interesting.

Replacing the fitting I linked the loop to a junction block and sealed it with insulation tape (as the new fitting didn't have any connectors as standard. I connected the live and neutral as normal and as there was no earth on the metal light fitting I connected the earth to it (with a screw and washer, basic but serviceable).

Upon switching the lighting circuit back on the light comes on as expected but my pen mains voltage tester seems to think the metal casing is live.

I've crawled into the loft just to make sure I didn't screw into any cabling when re-mounting the fitting and that seems all fine.

Am I doing something incredibly stupid or does it appear that the earth for this loop is live somehow?

I am an amateur and so any help would be extremely gratefully received.

Still think it's a windup...

But why butcher a light fitting by adding an earth point to it when manufacturer didn't add anything for it.

And why use a silly Volt Stick to try and determine that is was live.

The basic reason is that, not having any qualifications in mains housing electronics but being familiar with vehicle electronics I'm concerned about any un-earthed metal unit that is accessible externally. Like the casing.

I got the voltage pen tester to follow through with the above paranoia. As I'm not 100% certain of what I'm doing I'd rather be over cautious than otherwise.

It's why I have come here looking for assistance. Which I would be grateful of.

Was The "Earth" wire you connected, in use on the old fitting?

Have you got a picture of the new fitting, it would be unusual for a metal fitting Not to have an earth connection.?

If used to vehicle electronics you are bound to have a multimeter ... better to use that to test than a volt stick but still not ideal.