Discuss New to the trade! Any advice? in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm after some advice as a mature student.

I have just received my ecs labourers card, and have been given some weekend work while I transition into a new career.

I'm currently studying my 2365 lvl2, with the aim to start my 2365 lvl3 in September along with the new 18th edition regs.

Can anyone with experience offer any advice on the path I should take to full qualified status?

Cheers

Only that it's hard work and that there's no substitute for experience, there'll be others who can give you advice on what path to take but you need to be able to graft and keep an open mind as the trade evolves all the time and you can always learn a new or better way. Generally if you take the time to do things properly and have pride in your work it's a good trade but it's not a fast route to easy money, far from it. Also depends what part of the industry you want to go in as it's pretty broad.

Thanks robd.

I am under no illusion, it will be a long time until I'm where I aim to be, and experience is what will matter the most along the way. I just hope that I don't take a wrong turn with my studying, ideally I would like to do some courses along side been on the tools.

QUOTE - [ I'm after some advice as a mature student. ].
Get out now! whilst you still have some sanity left !

:D

Where all quite balmy you know !
What did you do before !
What made you want to enter electrics ?

Hi all.

I'm after some advice as a mature student.

I have just received my ecs labourers card, and have been given some weekend work while I transition into a new career.

I'm currently studying my 2365 lvl2, with the aim to start my 2365 lvl3 in September along with the new 18th edition regs.

Can anyone with experience offer any advice on the path I should take to full qualified status?

Cheers

Welcome el davo. You say you’re studying level 2 2365, is that at college?