Discuss No pics sorry............ in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Baddegg

-
Esteemed
Arms
Supporter
Patron
Reaction score
Went to view a kitchen refit this week, new kitchen and new rfc circuit dedicated to the kitchen, have a look at the CU and whilst inspecting I see that the 2 lighting circuits, up & down, are both wired with the same 1mm 3&E cable (pre 2005 cable)
Red as line to down mcb, yellow to up mcb, blue to neutral bar and earth to earth bar,
I am relatively new to this game but I’ve never seen that before and the customer says she’s never had any problems with it,ask for any old paper work and the cert (won’t mention the scams name) for a CU change doesn’t mention it but then it also says all IR readings were perfect ha ha!

That’s what I explained to her but she declined,not sure there’s much I can do after that,thought I’d share though just wish I’d got some pics,

According to the certification,a local building firm to me, registered with a scheme, I have stressed to the owner that it’s not right and needs changing but as I say she’s not interested as it’s never given her any problems....has anybody seen this before and what would you do in this situation?

You see this a lot in commercial /industrial installations across three phases but there is a requirement for a linked protective device to be employed to protect the neutral.

No neither of them, I run a small home improvement company, the customer wants a new kitchen fitted but also wants the kitchen rewired and put on its own dedicated RFC, at the moment it just on the down RFC, so before I commit to the new circuit I wanted to inspect the existing installation,load,no or circuits etc and found that....
To be fair other than that there’s not any problem with it, theres only 5 circuits on the CU

Last edited: