Discuss Notching timbers instead of drilling.... in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:  American Electrical Advice Forum

Good morning all

Is there any reg to say about drilling cables into joists instead of notching?

I have been an electrician for 12 years now and have always drilled out timbers, we are starting a HUGGGGGGGGGGE rewire with long runs. It would save a lot of time i think to notch the top of the timbers and use a protective metal plate to go over after the install

Thoughts?

The strength of a rectangular beam loaded in the vertical direction depends on the second moment of inertia I. Where I= B*D(cubed)/12 . Where B is the width of beam and D is the depth.
You need to know the exact dimensions but as an example: for a six-inch-deep beam with a one-inch- deep notch, the beam becomes effectively five inches deep. So, the original D(cubed) was 216 and the modified D(cubed) becomes 125. The strength is now 125/216 or 58% of the original.
For changes in stress levels, other factors such as distance from supports, are relevant.

For interest:
If you halve the width of a beam you reduce its strength by a factor of two.
If you halve the depth of a beam you reduce its strength by a factor of eight.
If you halve both width and depth you reduce its strength by a factor of sixteen.

FatAlan

-
Trainee
The strength of a rectangular beam loaded in the vertical direction depends on the second moment of inertia I. Where I= B*D(cubed)/12 . Where B is the width of beam and D is the depth.
You need to know the exact dimensions but as an example: for a six-inch-deep beam with a one-inch- deep notch, the beam becomes effectively five inches deep. So, the original D(cubed) was 216 and the modified D(cubed) becomes 125. The strength is now 125/216 or 58% of the original.