Discuss NVQ / Portfolio, and optimal progress into the profession - a few Questions in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Charlie_Don't_Surf

Trainee
Supporter
Reaction score
A bit of a mini essay but these questions have been building up in my mind over the last weeks and months as I've been studying and volunteering in the field.

Just wondering if anyone can give some advice about the NVQ / portfolio. I'm currently studying level 2 EAL in the evenings, while volunteering 2 days per week with a local electrical firm doing mainly domestic, and who knows, hopefully getting an entry level wage soon. I'm working my steady part time office job the other 4 days per week and having a day off.

I've been watching a lot of youtube advice videos and reading threads on here. More than one person has suggested to me now that when they look back, they wish they'd started their NVQ portfolio sooner, and that a good idea in terms of speeding up my progression would be to start taking photos of the work I'm doing on the job (with myself in the pictures, with PPE, with date stamp etc) and doing a write up of what I've done for each set of photos, as well as keeping (making?) copies of risk assessments etc so that by the time I come to do the NVQ, I will already have a substantial body of evidence to really speed up the rate at which I can complete the NVQ/portfolio.

A few questions about this: