Discuss NZ sparky just moved to the UK in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I have just settled here in the UK with my British partner. We are based in Southampton.
I am a New Zealand qualified Electrician with 6 years qualified experience. I come from a broad background with my most recent experience in high end residential and commercial work.
I am now starting to look for work after travelling around for a bit. I've just ordered my 18th edition books and I will look at doing the Learnzone Media online course to study up for the exam. I've done some enquiring about the AM2 but there is no availability on local courses until April. I've brushed up on the Health and Safety test and ready to go but I need my National Insurance number to apply which is still on its way.
I'd like to get into a role as a mate or improver while I look to get my qualifications over here. I've contacted a few agencies but they've been all a bit useless. If anyone has any contacts down here in Southampton to get me started it would be much appreciated.

Hey man, I’m in the same boat as you, just moved here 2 and a half weeks ago, originally a sparky from Aus, im in the process of completing the 18th by Friday this week, then am going to be looking into the AM2/health and saftey to get a Ecs jib card but am also waiting for my national insurance number which is slowing things down, seems like an ecs card is the best way to get a job if coming from overseas

Nice one. Are you based in London? I chatted to a few outfits on London and they said they'd have work right away as an Improver/Mate until the qualifications got sorted. Just a bit far for me to travel daily. Yeah the NI never is niggly, been waiting a month now and they reckon another couple of weeks.