Discuss On/off peak water heater help in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I’m looking for some help.

I’ve just moved into a new flat that uses an economy 7 tariff. It’s all electric. I’ve never used something like this before and am very confused as to how it works and what I should do.
I have 2 switches next to my water heater one that says on peak and the other off peak. Both are switched on all the time but the off peak light never comes on. There’s also a timer for on/peak.
I get about 1 hot shower before the water gets cold and I have to use the boost function on my on peak timer.
I’ve spoken to my landlord about this and he said I can find a instructions as to how to effectively use the off peak heater online which I can’t seem to find. I’ve found a programmable timer in my fuse box pictured below that has off peak written below it so i assume it has something to do with this?

I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed when it comes to stuff like this so could anyone offer any advice as to what I need to do to set this up properly?

Attachments

• 4E7D626A-2B32-4265-BCC7-248C4E3AB323.jpeg
    321.8 KB · Views: 22
  • 6FD241FB-03DF-4A6E-8EAF-DCE6B47E344D.jpeg
    412.4 KB · Views: 23
  • 32389653-6919-4FF8-99E3-AEAA072E0111.jpeg
    365.3 KB · Views: 23
Looking at your photos it seems as though the lower switch marked off peak is either not in use or connected through the one above to the timer unit.
If you turn the peak rate switch off does the timer go off too?
It could be that the on peak immersion is heating the top of the tank only so that's why you are running out quickly.
I would try overriding the timer switch and turning off the peak rate switch overnight and see if you have hot water in the morning. If not then you will probably need professional assistance to test the heaters and timer.
Hope that helps for a start.
Sy