Discuss Operate Wired Switch Remotely? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello. I'm an electric/electronics newbie and would like some advice on what I'm hoping is a fairly simple problem.

I have an electrically operated gate that I would like to be able to open and close when I'm away from the house.

When the technician fit the gate he left a simple doorbell inside the house that will open and close the gate (instead of using the wireless fob as we tend to do most of the time).

I'm thinking that if there were a way to replace with hard wired doorbell with a switch that was still wired to the gate (he tells me there are only two wires into the back of the doorbell switch) but could be operated wirelessly then I would be in business.

I know there are a plethora of products on the market for operating light switches remotely via mobile apps, etc. Is there anything on the market that I could replace my doorbell switch with, so that it was still hard wired to the gate, but could be turned on and off via an app on my phone?

from your description, it appears that with only 2 wires at the switch, you might need to supply a Neutral to said switch. then there's a load of kit that would do the job. best get a local spark to assess and quote.

Should be possible.

Assuming the button is just operating a signal input to the gate controller, then you could use various types of controller which give a pair of normally open relay contacts as an output. Whatever you use would need to give a momentary output though, rather than one that stays closed - this will give the same effect as a push on the button then.

Do you have the documentation for the system? A wiring diagram?

On reflection Murdoch's advice is the best way to approach it. Saves any safety risk or problems with warranty being invalidated.

Thanks for all the replies.