Discuss PIR or Microwave sensor, dimming from 50% upto 100% in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I've done my research to find the correct components but it kinda messy..
Does anyone have experience with dimming outdoor lights, specifically have them set at around 50% dusk till dawn, but be at 100% when presences is detected via a PIR or Microwave sensor.

Any help, much appreciated đź‘Ť

I have just googled 'sensing street lamp sensors' and quite a few products and companies are listed which provide the technology you mentioned. I have no experience of this technology or these products.

An example:

CitySense Plus - https://tvilight.com/products/street-light-motion-sensor/rf-mesh-pir-street-light-motion-sensor-citysense_plus/

Are you faced with a technology selection problem or do you aim to design from scratch something similar? Whichever, the nature of the lamps to be controlled will have a bearing on the most suitable technology. And reliability if there are a large number of lamps being controlled. And if applicable, the ease of retrofit.

Depends on what you are trying to achieve,
Energy saving?
Giving the impression of building / area occupation?
Or ??

The simplest way would be to have some low power lights on dusk to dawn control, then some higher powered lights on PIR control.
Or use all higher power and have alternate lights dusk to dawn and the others PIR.

I have just googled 'sensing street lamp sensors' and quite a few products and companies are listed which provide the technology you mentioned. I have no experience of this technology or these products.

An example:

CitySense Plus - https://tvilight.com/products/street-light-motion-sensor/rf-mesh-pir-street-light-motion-sensor-citysense_plus/