Discuss Qualification Vs Career guidance in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Gakure

-
Reaction score
Hi all, a few months ago, I asked on advice on the best route for a career change from Electrical Engineer to an Electrician. I was advised to take some course and since then I have achieved the following certificates (see below) but I have little practical experience.
However, I am lucky to have walked in a site near me and the electrician agreed to take me on to help on 1st fixing as trainee.
I come again to you guys to advice on the best direction to start putting meals on table while gaining experience.
-If I am going to register for JIB ECS card what title should I request for based on below?
-Is it worthy to start looking into competent body registration at this stage?
-I have zero tools (zero finance), what Will be the basic tools I should start looking at?
Qualifications + Certificate
  • 17th edition qualification
  • ECS certificate - no card yet
  • 2391-52 inspection and Testing
  • 2365-03 Electrical Installation level 3.
  • BEng Electrical and Electronics degree
  • Over 10 experience as engineer
  • Other CPDs like Project Management etc
Your advice are highly apprrciated as usual.

Basic tools... a selection of good quality VDE drivers, I can highly recommend the CK slims which you can get in a kit, 3 flats, 2 pozis. Get yourself a smaller one for some terminals. A decent pair of snips and I would suggest some Knipex installation pliers as they serve multiple purposes, so if you're on a tight budget they are a good choice. I have Knipex snips and installation pliers and they are the most heavily used pliers I have (I carry a selection just in case). A hammer, smallish for pinning and biggish for bashing. Spirit level, good tape measure. A decent AVI (I have a Fluke T-150 which is sweet as it will do some other stuff as well such as phase rotation - again, it can provide multiple functions which may save you some dosh).