Discuss Questions on registering CIS in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
Situation: I'm an electrical apprentice without employment atm. I have been offered work in the near future, with a subcontractor on a big London site. The other day, I registered with the CIS
I'm registered self-employed (have been landscaping past 15 odd years). I have a business bank account, but the business is a partnership, so I'm assuming that I won't be using that one to be paid with.

Can I use my personal bank account? Or do I need to open a separate business account? Can't find a straight answer haha.
I'm still working through my nvq3 etc, and I'm expecting to be an improver for a few years before even thinking about setting up a business.
Many thanks

Personal account is fine. Basically, when you put your invoice in, you itemise materials and labour. CIS tax is deducted from the labour part by whoever is paying you. They pay it direct to the tax man, and send you a voucher saying tax has been paid on those earnings.

If you are essentially self-employed then you can use a personal account (but don't tell the bank) as then you will avoid the serious hassle these days of opening a new business account and the added fees for simply using it.

If you are operating as a Ltd company then I'm pretty sure it needs to be a business account.

However, if you can I would open a new personal account and use it exclusively for any income and any outgoings (which are probably limited, say insurance, professional fees, tools, etc) as that way when it comes to doing your tax returns it is all far simpler to find. And if ever challenged by HMRC, to justify.