Discuss selecting type and amount of downlights in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Well... I'm a bit of a pro at fitting down lights (well I like to think so anyway)

what at sort of room is it, and how bright do you want it?

just so you know, I have fitted probably 450+ down lights since January in 30 odd rooms from bedrooms, to kitchens, lounges, ensuites, shops.

ive also fitted various types, I am about to fit 4 Aurora M10 lights tomorrow, and got 6 JCC FGLED10 lights next week.

Really you need to decide what lights to go for,

if you want a good light level, I like the Aurora M7 which are about 400 lumens if you want a brighter light go for the M10, they are approx 550 lumens, in a typical bathroom 4 of these are just right, nice and bright, customer is always happy.

now, if you want very bright, go for the JCC FGLED10, they are 850 lumens, you supposedly need a lot less of them as they are a lot brighter and ha e a 60 degree beam angle instead of 40 on the m series Aurora.

I have put all three lights next to each other in a bit of board and the JCC light looks 50% brighter than the M10

it will be in a small bathroom, ill be using led's at the moment we have a 16w 2d fitting which is just the right brightness

Any decent manufacturer would be able to tell you the recommended number and spacing of a particular fitting if you provide the room dimensions.

It all comes down to personal preference at the end of the day, I know how much light you get out of different combinations and use experience to guide me.

For domestic you use a rule of thumb guesstimate based on your experience of the products you fit.
For anything else you will need to look at how much illumination is required according to the guidelines from cibse etc and calculate it properly.

It all comes down to personal preference at the end of the day, I know how much light you get out of different combinations and use experience to guide me.