Discuss Shower Wiring in Granny Annexe in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

MechEng

DIY
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am Faraz, I'm a Mechanical Project Engineer by trade. This is my first post on these forums.

I am looking for some insight into a problem I'm having.

I currently have a 6mm Cable running from the main RCD to a 9.8kW shower in a Granny Annexe. the wire currently runs about 25m long to the Annexe and is run underground from the main property. Now I've always opposed to having a 6mm cable for this application but my father was adamant 6mm was plenty and thus installed it. I believe its a 30A RCD. The shower constantly trips (not surprised) and can't be used for more than 2mins at best before it trips.

For a cable length of <5m I would personally go for 10mm cable and 45A fuse. But I feel that due to the length it would make more sense to go upto a 16mm cable due to the length.

Is 16mm SWA cable overkill? Is 10mm SWA fit for purpose? Average shower time is 15mins total.

Please note this Annexe was a shed before and so I am in the process of correcting the wiring according to the local council's safety regs.

10mm cable is the correct size for your application, as long as it's not buried in insulation, 16mm is overkill and you'll not be able to terminate it. is it the MCB that trips or the RCD? a 32A MCB is too low a rating for 9.8kW.

10mm cable, 50A MCB is my solution.

Hi All,

I am Faraz, I'm a Mechanical Project Engineer by trade. This is my first post on these forums.