Discuss Single phase board use with 2 phases in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello guys new in this forum.

In my 19 years as an electrician I've never seen this. Looking for any thoughts on this.

Been asked to install a few new circuits In a domestic garage. There is a granny annex on top of this garage also.

Supply is 3 phase in to a 3 phase isolator. From there phase L1 supplies 1 CU for the granny annex.

Phases L2 & L3 go to a standard single phase wylex 18 way board.
It seems that it's been a split RCD adapted in a dual phase board. 1 side of this CU is L2 into a 100 Main switch then incorporates RCBOs for the circuits.
The other side of the CU has another main switch taking L3 phase with RCBOs too.
Each phase and N enters board at each side, L2 and N on bottom left and L3 and N on right side.

There is no certificate for this from previous owner, but looks to be a very neat job. But have my suspicions.

Inside the house is the same. 3 phase incoming to 3 phase isolator but has 3 single phase split load RCD CUs supplied by each phase.

My question is, has anyone seen anything like this before.
Search through the web, asked other electricians ask the wholesalers, and searched the regs.

Keep scratching my head at this one and it's making me bald.

Advice grately appriciated.

Regards

A pic would be helpful. You may have an adapted dual rcd consumer unit which has been altered or it is a dual tariff consumer unit which isn't being used for dual tariffs. Dual tariff is a single unit which incorporates peak and off peak in a single enclosure.

Hi Westward.

Unfortunately unable to provide photos as my camera on phone is broken.

As far I can see, and investigated as far as I can by just looking and asking questions, the CU looks to be a Split load RCD converted into a 2 phase board with 2 main 100A switches. There is no dual tariff etc.