Discuss SWA banjo fly lead size in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all.

Could I ask some advice please regarding SWA banjo fly lead sizing.
Can anyone explain what sizing or how you size the required earth size when:

A) The armourings are not used as cpc

B) When armourings are used as CPC?

I’m still learning and can’t find anything explain I guess this so was hoping for some advice please.

Many thanks

Honestly in the real world, most of the time you will use a piece of the cable you trim off the end of the SWA.
it is over and above the requirements for earthing conductor size and is freely available right where you need it.
just remember to add some stripy green/yellow tape and all is good.

It isn't important whether it is being used as the primary cpc or not, under fault conditions it must be able to carry the fault current regardless.

Over on this thread here, a couple of us agreed that it's usually sensible to make it the same size as you would make a copper CPC for the same circuit.

Because it's usually short compared to the run of SWA it tends to be a small fraction of the total resistance, so it is sometimes possible to use a smaller conductor provided it is adequate adiabatically. But unless there is a serious shortage of space in an accessory, what's the point? It would just end up looking flimsy and cheapskate.

Obviously if the SWA has been sized to minimise voltage drop and is much larger than needed to achieve the required Iz, it's not necessary to match that CSA with the flylead.

Honestly in the real world, most of the time you will use a piece of the cable you trim off the end of the SWA.

Yes, most of the time you would, but only when the cable is relatively small. Once you get in to the medium/large sizes you are more likely going to want to be using something smaller and not deprive the Xmas party fund of the scrap value.