Discuss Which laser level would you suggest? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

HappyHippyDad

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Morning all.

I am going to invest in a laser level as I am getting more and more larger domestic jobs and I am finding it a right pain to go all around the walls with my spirit level. It will be used predominantly for levelling sockets/switches around the room.

I have started looking and as with everything these days there is a huge choice and it gets confusing.

I have no experience with these so was hoping for some advice on what characteristics of the a laser level you find very useful, i.e 360°, bright light etc.

Also, any suggestions on which ones to buy?

Budget of <£200 including the tripod and any extras.

The dewalt DW0811-XJ360 looks good?

I also like the look of the dewalt DW088K but I don't think it is 360°, do you guys find 360° very useful?

Cheers.

I don't actually get on with the 360° ones very well, well i presume they still have the spinning dot that runs around the room? Probably just me lol

Instead i bought a bosch cross hair style one and a hama camera tripod, can then be spun to the wall your working on, just an alternative route to look at anyway

I still have a stanley cubix self levelling laser. Had it for years. Was about £40 I think. It's not a 360, but covers two walls and as we can only work on one at a time its never an issue. A really great tool and you will wish you had got one ages ago.

Haven't we had this conversation before, or was it someone else :D

Anyhows here's what I posted on the subject before;

'I had a Bosch one, till I damaged it, and then found out Bosch do not do spares.

I got a Stanley SCL-D, which has cross levels & plumb spots. It can also be used on its back (when locked) to align things on ceilings, for marking down lights, cable/trunking runs etc. It also has the added advantage of being repaired with spares!