Discuss Wireless Switches - whats possible in this scenario? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Just need some advice on this one - i wont be doing the work myself - but wanted to understand what could be done in my situation without chasing walls etc in. I am no electrician and never do any work on electrics and sorry for any terminology that might be incorrect below :)

Moved into new home with a lovely kitchen diner - few months in and the lights have stopped working for some bizarre reason. The layout is this:
Kitchen area has 2 banks of 4 spots controlled by a switch on the wall and is on a 2 way relay to the switch in the living room.
A bank of 3 spots in the extension controlled by a switch in the kitchen and also on a 2 way relay to the switch in the living room.
A bank of 4 spots controlled by a switch in the living room
So in total 15 spots and 5 switches. One with a 2 switch plate in the kitchen and one with a 3 plate switch in the living room.

All seemed to work fine for a few months and last week stopped working - turning things on and a different light would come on etc etc. Got a sparky in to have a look and turns out there is some sort of neutral wire missing or the neutral has been damaged somewhere at some point but he says the wiring is a little ropy to be honest. He managed to get a bank of 4 spots working in the kitchen and it seems that the rest of the lights that are not working are missing a neutral somewhere (or just not been done properly).

His suggestion was to start chasing wall and a bit of open heart surgery !! To which we are not favouring.

i just wondered if there were any other options here - we bascially have 11 spots not working and half the extension in darkness at the moment !! - not ideal. And wondered if wireless switches recievers could be a short term fix ?

Any suggestions much appreciated