Discuss 4mm radial from 2.5mm ring on 32A? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Go easy I’m new to this but.. I’ve just come across a 4mm radial (garage) being fed from downstairs 32A MCB ring. Trying to locate the connection but question is does this comply with BS7671? I can’t tell if it’s on a 13A FS or not at the moment.

Go easy I’m new to this but.. I’ve just come across a 4mm radial (garage) being fed from downstairs 32A MCB ring. Trying to locate the connection but question is does this comply with BS7671? I can’t tell if it’s on a 13A FS or not at the moment.

Welcome to the forum mate.
How many sockets are wired to the 4mm? If just 1 then you could class it as a spur.
If there was a 13A FS then why the 4mm? 1.5mm would do, depending on the length...
[automerge]1590366525[/automerge]
@Jonspark Jusr for reference mate, look at Appendix 15 of the BBB (Big Blue Book) page 505.

1590366473667.png

Last edited:
Thanks Spoon, I did think that was the case just can’t located the connection at this stage. It has 4 double sockets supplying basic equipment such as fridge etc. I guess 1.5mm would have been ok. I’ve heard the term “lollop circuit” used before but this would usually be the other way round i.e 4mm to 2.5. Next step find connection and if not in a FCU then either 1. Put one in or 2. Run 4mm back to CU on 20A OCPD.

If I even find 4mm additions running on a original 32a 2.5 ring circuit my usually feeling is it’s a non-fused spur off a spur of a spur etc

(I also don’t really like 1.5 feeding 13a sockets Just my opinion)