Discuss Advice for getting into BMS and automation engineering in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

T50GSW

-
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I was wondering if anyone can give me any advice.

I’m currently an electrician working in commercial and industrial offices/factories etc butI’m looking to move forward and do something a bit more involved and test myself.

I’ve been doing a bit of research and I like the look of trying to move into Building Management Systems and automation, but I haven’t been able to find a huge amount of information about what kind of qualifications I’d need to take the step.

Ideally experience is king and I’d love to be able to get some experience working on this kind of stuff but my current company doesn’t touch anything like that so I can’t do it there, and in this day and age a lot of companies don’t want to train people, they prefer already qualified people already in the industry. This means I’d probably be having to look at funding the qualifications myself with no guarantee of a job after it so I would like to get it right rather than commit money and years of work to something then find out it means nothing.

is anyone able to point me in the right direction in regards to courses, or even companies that may be willing to take someone on and train them on the job? I’m not afraid of hard work and I know I’m capable of learning it all, and I want to feel like I’m progressing rather than spinning my wheels. I’ve got a young kid now and I want to be able to support my family the best I can and I feel like where I am currently will just be going through the motions indefinitely.

apologies for the long post but I’d appreciate any advice anyone can give me. Thanks

TL;DR
Advice for getting into BMS and automation engineering
Last edited: