Discuss Advice needed setting up on my own in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hello everyone...

I've been working for a narional security system for the last 15 years, started off as an apprentice got NVQ level 2 in security systems which included technical maths.

From then I have been installing intruder door access cctv and fire.

I'm 33 and have had the itch to go on my own, I do alot of private work and over the years I have picked up on the electrical side of things, I'm by no means an electrician but I'm comfortable changing boards fitting extra circuits lights etc I done an extension on my house and had it tested and signed off by an electrician and he said he was impressed with the quality of work.
I'm forever getting asked to do electrical jobs at the moment and people are struggling to find electricians near me at the mo but I'm reluctant to do it as I don't have the quals. I only tend to do something if its an emergency or a fault and I have always got to the bottom of something. I'd never take something on I never had a clue about, I've looked at doing a course for like 8 grand but don't really see the point. I'm not looking to do rewires or even board changes. I was told if your competent to do a job you can do it is this correct?
I done a wiring regs course in college years ago and wouldn't mind refreshing on that and also learning how to properly test my work.

What my question is is if I set up on my own officially can I advertise electrical work? I have an agreement with an electrician who is happy to test and sign off my jobs also BTW but is this always needed?

I was told if your competent to do a job you can do it is this correct,

It's OK to say that until the wheels fall off