Discuss Advice on training and entering industry at 43yrs old. in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm a newbie here so please be gentle... Advice on entering the industry please!

I'm 43yrs old, transferring from being a self-employed photographer of 17yrs, (the photography business is drying up... have some really good clients but just commissioning less and writing is on the wall. Need to change career now). Have dabbled a lot in property for a while, looked after a few places and have become a little bit handy (various DIY). Originally studied science at uni and have also done courses on coding / website building. So I can knuckle down with technical information, be good with my hands and deal with clients well.

Really interested in becoming a sparky as it ticks lots of boxes for me but have a few questions, answers to any of them would be really helpful. I'm interested in both commercial and domestic work and to potentially get into the field of renewables and EV point installation. Imagine I would be doing a mixture of domestic installer / electrician's mate stuff to begin with, build portfolio for NVQ L3 and expand into other areas. Questions are:

1. What fast track courses are considered the best? I'm aware that it's working on the job where the real learning comes but I need to get up to speed to become an electrician's mate etc. Looking at "Options Skills"... any feedback on them?

2. How is my age viewed? What kind of person is wanted as an electrician's mate? Does my age help or hinder? Does my previous work play a role?

3. What kind of income can I expect as an electrician's mate in London? What kind of income as a fully qualified electrician in London?

4. How would I go about finding another electrician to work for as a mate?

5. How much mileage is there as a domestic installer if you can't self-cert work? i.e. I presume in reality you have to be an electrician's mate?