Discuss Am I not getting enough work? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

kieran97

-
Trainee
Reaction score
Hi,

Sorry If I am posting in the wrong place, I am new. If you could take the time to read my post, I would appreciate it more than you know.

I am about 5/6 months in on my first year as an electrical apprentice I love this industry and its fundamentals and since I was around 15, I have wanted to be a qualified spark. (little backstory) I went to college and did my level 1,2 and 3 but struggled to find an apprenticeship when I finished college at 18/19. So, I worked at asda for a few years and was over the moon when I was offered a job at 22 years old. I am so determined to be qualified I cannot put into words how much I want a career in this industry.

However, my job is maintenance. My college told me due to having a level 3 I am basically a portfolio and onsite student with my 18th coming soon and other few exams. They said I could probably be qualified within 2/3 years, but I am getting little electrical work. My college want to see some install work and some testing etc. and so far, I have wired up a few emergency lights done little to none install work have not worked with any containment and I have had no work with different types of cable like SWA fp200 etc and no testing I have painted walls more than working on electrics I was stuck PAT testing for about a month. My employer who is a plumber does not quite understand my position and what I need to do to complete my apprenticeship, college is not very open with him, so I know it is difficult for us both. Big electrical work gets contracted out.