Discuss AM2 Exam in a week time any tips or advice? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

RyanF

-
Reaction score
Hi all sparkies/apprentices,

A quick introduction I am currently a electrician apprentice with a domestic contractor just a small business. I have now complete my NVQ side of my qualification now sitting the dreaded AM2 Exam on the 12th Febuary until the 14th. However, I do have the refresher course booked on the 8th and 9th.

So any tips or advice on the AM2 exam as I am most worrie about the fault finding unit.

Any tips or advice or links to website would be massively appreciated!

Cheers!

I am confident with safe isolation procedure and key in pocket etc I just feel like the fault finding element will let me down.

I am confident with safe isolation procedure and key in pocket etc I just feel like the fault finding element will let me down.
It will be simple if you keep calm and logical. Try the easy things first.
My two lighting faults were a blown lamp element and a broken neutral to the lampholder. This was in 1991, so things could be different now.
Already feeling old and don't need to be told. :(

I am just wondering if the assessor says the fault on the s plan heating system that when the customer operates Certain parts X or Y doesnt happen thats the ones I feel that will throw me.

Also I know there is a dol starter with a motor in the circuit or a pretend wiring box. How do you do IR test and R1+R2 etc I read aline that you have to short out the dol started due to the thermal overload of the wire has some resistance or something?

Read the sheet I put up in post #4...