Discuss Another ceiling rose replacement! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Fitzpad

DIY
Reaction score
Hi all. Apologies I can see this type of question has been asked a few times but I still need help as an absolute novice! I am planning to replace the rose with a modern (metal) light. I have added a pic of the current configuration in place and the connector available inside the new light. I have read up a bit and understand the red and black is old colours (see other pic nicked from web as my reference) and I think I understand that I have a feed in a feed out and a switched live (ps it’s a dimmer switch if that matters). My query is that I don’t understand how to connect old and new given the connector block inside the new light. Should I be buying some kind of multi block similar together one in the old rose and then linking this to the connector block in the new light? Also I can see there is no sheath denoting the live switch wire but assume it is the black one going into Live? And does it matter anyway --- long as I remap it to similar block in same way as currently configured ensuring power is off throughout? Thanks in advance for any guidance. Keen to do it myself but will accept defeat if told to not be an idiot and get a sparky in. ?. Cheers. Den. Definitely a homeowner/DIYer!

Attachments

• E03452A0-0980-4D30-ADE6-E67C38B3D7B8.jpeg
    85.8 KB · Views: 71
  • 1A0C8033-A984-4383-BE03-D860C87D9494.jpeg
    167.3 KB · Views: 65
  • 94CBCD2C-9B36-4320-88AF-E636CDF79A49.jpeg
    88.1 KB · Views: 65
Fairly straight forward job , you will need a wago or extra termina block to join your 2 red lives together.
The rest is Pretty self explanatory using the block on thr new light for youy switched live , neutral and earths

Fairly straight forward job , you will need a wago or extra termina block to join your 2 red lives together.